Committee:	Nominating Committee		
Chairs:	Gena Cohen (immediate past president)		
Responsible	Officer:Rebekah Dorman (president)		

Staff & Their Role:

Staff	Their Role(s)	
	Admin and confirm eligibility of	
Jay Ross	potential board members	
	Share suggestions	
Clergy		

Committee Purpose: _To nominate (hopefully a diverse group of) members of B'nai Jeshurun for its governing board

Areas of Responsibility: To make sure we take into account many factors, such as gender, age, family situation, day/religious school, longevity at synagogue, etc.

How does it support the Synagogue? It creates the ballot of nominees to shape the future of the synagogue

2022 Goals:

Short Term: Identify new prospects for the board who will bring skills/experience we need

Long Term: Identify members who start as board members and can become future officers, including president, of the synagogue

Budget Expectations, if any: None (cost of mailing the ballot to the congregation and running the election)

Potential available funds from endowments:

2022 Work Plan and Timing:

Initiative or Project	Results	Responsible Person	Target Completion Date
Form a committee	Have diverse committee thinking about potential board members	Nominating Chair (with help of Exec Director)	1/6/23
Discuss candidates	Gather names of prospective board members; confirm who can stay for a second term; decide who to ask and make the calls to confirm		February
Slate is filled	Report to Secretary names for each vacancy	Nominating chair	3/7/23
Mailing to synagogue	Letter sent to membership with proposed slate and date of annual meeting (signed by Secretary and with nominating committee names)	Secretary/Exec Director	3/17/23
Confirm no additional names	Additional nominations by petition may be submitted with at least 25 signatures		4/2/23
Follow up mailing if necessary	If petition is valid, new mailing must go out to congregation		4/12/23
Provision for absentee ballots	Must be requested in writing at least 14 days prior to election and postmarked at least 7 days prior		April 2023
Election	Morning of annual meeting	Exec Director	5/7/23
Annual meeting	Election results shared	Exec Director, President, Rabbi	5/7/23

Committee Members and Tenure on Committee:

	Board	
Committee Member	Member?	Committee Member Since
Gena Cohen	Υ	2022
Rebekah Dorman (ad hoc)	Υ	2022
Chad Cohen (2022 member)	Υ	?
Michael Rabovsky (2022 member)	Υ	?
Aaron Wolkoff (2022 member)	Υ	?
Grace Brower (2022 member)	N	?
Dan Dobres (2022 member)	N	?
Jana Lazarus (2022 member)	N	?